Looking for a Boulevard Alternative? Compare the Best Options in 2026

Compare the top 10 Boulevard alternatives for 2026. See pricing, features and key differences, checked against vendor sites and Zenoti’s Capterra reviews.

A booking system that fit two chairs can feel tight at five, or the moment a second location opens. Add-ons stack up on the monthly bill. Staff want more from the phone app. Medspa services call for deeper charting, and the front desk cannot answer every call. If any of that sounds familiar, you are likely weighing a Boulevard alternative. The right choice depends on your business model, your number of locations, how complex your operations are, your budget and how much you want automated. This guide compares ten platforms on the same ten criteria, so you can see which one fits your salon, spa or medspa, and which ones to rule out early.

A note on transparency: The Check-In is powered by Zenoti, which appears in this guide. It was evaluated using the same criteria as every other platform.

Zenoti suits salons, spas and medspas, including clinical practices, from one location to many. Mangomint suits salons and spas that want one flat plan. Vagaro, Booksy, Fresha and GlossGenius suit independents and small teams. Phorest suits premium salons with three or more staff. Mindbody suits class-based wellness. PatientNow and AestheticsPro suit medspas that want a dedicated EMR.

The table below compares all ten platforms side by side. Pricing is shown as a plain fact from each vendor’s own page.

PlatformBest forPricing modelBooking and schedulingClient managementPOS and paymentsMarketing and retentionAI and automationMulti-location support
ZenotiSalons, spas and medspas, one location to manyQuote-basedOnline booking, waitlist, abandoned booking recovery, MyZen provider appOne guest profile across centers; forms and chartingZenoti Payments, payment links, saved cards, tap-and-goSegmented campaigns, tiered loyalty, referrals, reviewsAI Receptionist, AI Scribe (AI Plus package)Cross-center memberships and gift cards, settlements, royalties
MangomintSalons and spas that want one flat plan$120 per location plus $10 per user a monthExpress Booking, online booking, waitlist, virtual waiting roomClient timeline, portal, forms and charting; HIPAA with a BAAMangomint Pay, front desk display, card readersCampaigns and automated flows (marketing add-on from $30)Automated flows and messages; AI features not stated publiclyPriced per location; locations set up in business settings
VagaroIndependents and small teamsFrom $23.99 a month for one location, plus add-onsOnline booking, marketplace listingSOAP notes, intake and consent forms, photos; signed BAAVagaro Merchant Services; automatic no-show feesLoyalty points, email credits, text marketing from $20 a monthVera Receptionist chatbot; AI-drafted review repliesShared customers, memberships and gift cards across grouped locations
PhorestPremium salons and medspas with three or more staffQuote-basedOnline booking and schedulingDigital consultation forms, face mapping, before-and-after imagesIntegrated paymentsMarketing, loyalty and reporting toolsAI tools stated on its US site; details not publishedBuilt for premium and multi-location businesses
FreshaSolo providers and small teams$19.95 a month (Independent) or $14.95 per bookable team member (Team)Online booking, multiple calendars, marketplace listingClient profilesCard processing fees applyMarketing tools on Team; loyalty add-onNot stated publiclyTeam plan supports unlimited team members and locations
GlossGeniusSolo and small beauty businessesFrom $24 a month billed annuallyBranded booking site, online bookingClient management; intake forms and waivers on GoldBuilt-in payments and point of saleBuilt-in marketing; text allowance varies by planNot stated publiclyPlatinum adds unlimited team members; multi-location not stated
MindbodyWellness businesses that combine spa services with classesStarter from $99 per location a month; higher tiers by quoteAppointment and class scheduling, website bookingClient discovery through the Mindbody appPayments and reporting on StarterMarketing automation and analytics on UltimateNot stated on pages reviewedPriced per location
PatientNowAesthetic and medical practicesQuote-basedScheduling with waitlists and automated remindersHIPAA-compliant EMR, e-prescribing, before-and-after photographyIntegrated paymentsCampaigns and marketing automationAI-powered patient engagement and marketingMulti-location and asset scheduling
AestheticsProMedspas that want clinical tools at published prices$160, $285 or $350 a month by editionClient portal with online booking, text reminders500+ forms, AP Photo, telemedicine, e-prescribeInvoices, gift cards, card integration optionAP Marketing Solutions (extra fee)Not stated on pricing pageExecutive and Enterprise editions
BooksyIndependents and beauty pros who want a marketplace$29.99 a month plus $20 per extra userBooksy profile, Instagram, Google, consumer appIntake forms and waiversPublished processing rates; Fast PayoutsEmail and SMS blasts, stamp-card loyalty, BoostAI Receptionist in betaSeparate account for each location


Prices and features come from each vendor’s own website or help center, checked October 5 to 8, 2026. Where a detail is not published, the table says so. Items marked for verification are drawn from third-party summaries and need a check against the vendor’s page before publishing.

How did we evaluate the Boulevard alternatives?

The comparison below uses ten criteria, listed in the order buyers most often raise them. Every platform is described only from its own website and help center, with the date checked, and where a detail is not published the page says so. Zenoti is on the list, so it is held to the same rules as every other platform.

1. Total cost as you add locations and tools

Look for the published price per location, what is included and what is an add-on, payment processing terms, and how the bill grows with each location or staff member. A low entry price can climb once texting, payroll or a branded app are added, so compare the full stack rather than the first number.

2. Mobile apps for owners, staff and clients

Check what staff can do on a phone or iPad (schedule, check out, client notes, messages), what owners can see, and whether clients get an app under your brand. Test the app against your own daily workflows, since a feature list rarely shows how it feels at the front desk.

3. Clinical workflows for medspa services, including AI notes

Look for injectable charting with structured fields, before-and-after photos tied to the visit, consents sent at booking, e-prescribing, AI note drafting and a signed BAA. Providers lose the most time to charting, so depth here matters most for medical aesthetics.

4. Support you can reach, and a system that stays up

Look for support hours and channels, a named contact after go-live, and the uptime the vendor states. Ask what happens on a Saturday when a card reader fails, because that is when the answer counts.

5. Memberships and packages that flex

Look for recurring billing, pausing or skipping payments, sharing with family and friends, and redemption at every location. Rigid membership rules tend to create front-desk workarounds as a program grows.

6. Reporting and analytics you can customize

Look for reports you can tailor, save and schedule by email, rolled up by location, region or brand. The test is whether an owner can get the exact view they use each week without exporting to a spreadsheet.

7. AI front desk and marketing

Look for calls answered and booked when the team is busy, two-way texting on the client record, segmented campaigns, loyalty and referral programs, and review management. Confirm which of these are included and which are priced separately.

8. Payments and checkout

Look for payment links, cards on file that stay current, deposits, tipping and clear reconciliation. Processing terms matter as much as the checkout screen, so read them alongside the subscription price.

9. Multi-location and franchise control

Look for one client profile and one appointment book across locations, memberships and gift cards that redeem anywhere, brand and location rules, franchise settlements and royalties, and the same platform for a single location. A platform that runs one location well and ten locations well avoids a second migration.

10. Payroll inside the platform

Look for pay runs calculated from appointments, hours with overtime, commissions and tips, with payroll taxes filed for you. Confirm whether payroll is included, an add-on, or limited to certain countries.

A note on transparency: The Check-In is powered by Zenoti, which appears in this guide. It was evaluated using the same criteria as every other platform.

Top 10 Boulevard competitors and alternatives: features and pricing

The shortlist covers salon and spa management, independent beauty businesses, multi-location operations, wellness practices and medical aesthetics. Platforms are grouped by the kind of business they fit rather than ranked, and Zenoti is listed first because it is the publisher’s own platform, as noted above. Start with the table, then read the entries that match your business model.

AlternativeBest forPricingKey strength
ZenotiSalons, spas and medspas, from one location to manyQuote-basedMedspa charting, AI front desk and franchise tools in one platform
MangomintSalons and spas that want one flat plan$120 a month per location plus $10 per user; phone, marketing and payroll add-onsCore features included in one plan, with memberships, forms and charting
VagaroIndependents and small teamsFrom $23.99 a month for one location (introductory rate), plus add-onsLow entry price, consumer marketplace and payroll with tax filing
PhorestPremium salons and medspas with three or more staffQuote-basedConsultation tools and premium client care
FreshaSolo providers and small teams$19.95 a month (Independent) or $14.95 per bookable team member (Team)Low per-seat subscription with a consumer marketplace
GlossGeniusSolo and small beauty businessesFrom $24 a month billed annuallyBranded booking site and a polished client experience
MindbodyWellness businesses that combine spa services with classesStarter from $99 a month per location; higher tiers by quoteConsumer app with 3 million or more active users, per Mindbody
PatientNowAesthetic and medical practices that need a full EMRQuote-basedHIPAA-compliant EMR, photography and marketing automation
AestheticsProMedspas that want clinical tools at published prices$160 (two users), $285 or $350 a monthTelemedicine, e-prescribe, 500+ forms and AP Photo
BooksyIndependents and beauty pros who want a marketplace$29.99 a month plus $20 per extra userOne all-features plan and 24/7 live chat support

Prices checked October 5 to 8, 2026 on each vendor’s own site unless marked for verification.

1. Zenoti: AI-powered salon, spa and medspa management platform

Zenoti is an all-in-one management platform for salons, spas, medspas and other beauty and wellness businesses. It covers booking, memberships, payments, staff operations, payroll, marketing and multi-location management in one system, so it tends to suit businesses with higher operational complexity: several locations, franchise structures, clinical services or a heavy call load. It also runs a single location, and platforms like Zenoti are not the automatic choice for every business. The trade-offs are listed below.

Features

  • Appointment scheduling and online booking, with waitlists and abandoned booking recovery
  • Family, couples and group booking, with multi-provider and simultaneous services
  • Memberships and packages
  • POS, payment processing, payment links and buy-now-pay-later
  • Client management, forms and charting
  • Staff management, leave management and payroll
  • Marketing automation and loyalty
  • Multi-location and franchise management
  • Reporting and analytics
  • Dynamic and peak pricing
  • AI-powered tools, including AI Receptionist and AI Scribe

How Zenoti performs on the ten criteria

Each block below follows the ten criteria in the same order, and compares Zenoti with Vagaro and Booksy only on what each vendor states publicly.

1. Total cost as you add locations and tools

Zenoti publishes no price list. Its pricing page asks you to request a quote, so it cannot be shown to cost less than a published rate. Its case is consolidation: payroll with tax filing, a phone system and a branded client app run in the same platform, which means fewer separate tools to pay for. Zenoti Payments uses fixed-rate pricing by card brand and swipe, “with no hidden fees or additional requirements”, on month-to-month agreements with no minimum volume (those terms cover Zenoti Payments, not the software subscription).

For reference, Vagaro publishes $23.99 a month for one location (an introductory rate for the first six months) plus $10 a month per extra staff calendar up to seven, with payroll, text marketing, a branded app, Vera and forms sold as add-ons. Booksy publishes $29.99 a month plus $20 per extra user, with all features included and a one-time Boost fee on new marketplace clients (both checked October 5, 2026).

“Being able to manage operations, client communication, documentation, and marketing in one system saves me significant time and reduces operational costs, making the business more efficient overall.”

— David O., General Manager, Medical Practice, Capterra, April 18, 2026

2. Mobile apps for owners, staff and clients

MyZen gives providers their schedule, appointments, guest profiles and notes, clock-in and clock-out, tips and commissions, and Zenoti’s datasheet cites more than 12,000 providers using it. Guests can also get a branded client app, which Zenoti’s datasheet says Zenoti builds, maintains and updates at no additional cost, where they book, fill in forms, check in and pay.

On what each vendor states, Zenoti is level with Vagaro and Booksy on staff and owner apps, and ahead of Booksy on a branded client app. Vagaro Pro lets owners book clients, take payments and check reports from a phone, and Vagaro sells a branded client app for $100 a month plus a $100 development fee. Booksy Biz lets owners manage the calendar, clients, payments and marketing from the app, and clients book through the Booksy profile, Instagram, Google or the Booksy consumer app; a branded app is not stated publicly. As with any platform, test the staff app on a phone and iPad against your own daily workflows.

“Today, the business has become more mobile; we are witnessing more bookings from mobile devices than from walk-in customers.”

— Carolyn Monaghan, Program Manager, MiniLuxe (Zenoti Consumer Mobile App datasheet)

3. Clinical workflows for medspa services, including AI notes

For medspa services, Zenoti’s forms and charting capture injectable records with product, units per injection zone, lot number, expiry date and the administering provider. Laser and energy-device notes hold settings and pass counts, before-and-after photos link to the visit and chart note, and forms go out as soon as an appointment is booked. AI Scribe drafts structured chart notes for the provider to review and approve, and it is a paid add-on. Zenoti also covers e-prescribing to any Surescripts-connected pharmacy, a review dashboard for medical directors and a signed BAA (see the medspa features page, checked October 5, 2026).

On what each vendor states, Zenoti is close to Vagaro on the basics, and ahead on lot and expiry tracking for injectables and on AI notes that are available now. Vagaro states SOAP notes, digital intake and consent forms, before-and-after photo storage and HIPAA compliance with a signed BAA (March 11, 2026), plus e-prescribing that covers controlled substances and product placement on a client photo, with units counted per site (July 1, 2026). Lot numbers, expiry dates and AI note drafting are not stated publicly. Booksy is not compared here because its features and pricing pages name barber, hair, nail, brow and lash, massage and spa businesses, not medspas.

“Very comprehensive and designed well for medical aesthetics.”

— Tory C. M., Co-Founder and Managing Director, Medical Practice, Capterra, February 27, 2026

“providers save roughly 60 minutes a day in charting time”

— Spa 35, in Zenoti’s AI Scribe ROI article, July 30, 2026

“Now more than 70% of forms are completed from guest’s devices prior to their appointments.”

— About Face case study

4. Support you can reach, and a system that stays up

Zenoti states “24/7 global support” for every customer and, on AI Plus plans, “a dedicated Customer Success Manager and priority assistance backed by SLAs” (pricing page, October 5, 2026). Its Payments datasheet states 99.99% uptime for payments and PCI DSS-secure transactions; that figure applies to payments, not the whole platform. Zenoti also states third-party-verified HIPAA compliance, PCI DSS, SOC 1 and SOC 2, GDPR, CCPA and PIPEDA coverage .

No comparison is made here. Vagaro offers free support by phone, email and chat with Vera, with an option to chat with a person, and sells one-on-one training from $100 (updated September 23, 2026). Booksy offers 24/7 live chat and email support. Zenoti’s evidence is what its own reviewers say.

“Every time we had a question it was answered immediately.”

— Michelle L., Location Director of Operations, Health, Wellness and Fitness, Capterra, July 22, 2026

“What we liked most about Zenoti is the excellent customer support, user-friendly system, and efficient appointment management.”

— Emily T., Administrative Assistant, Health, Wellness and Fitness, Capterra, May 21, 2026

“Zenoti support has been extremely helpful and responsive throughout our experience.”

— Lisa F., Business Development Manager, Health, Wellness and Fitness, Capterra, May 14, 2026

5. Memberships and packages that flex

Zenoti memberships are auto-recurring and can be paid in full or monthly. Guests choose their own start date and can freeze or skip payments, trial runs convert from introductory to regular memberships automatically, and benefits can be used by family and friends. Renewal reminders, auto-renewal, center- or region-specific offers and one program that redeems across centers are included (Zenoti Memberships datasheet).

On what each vendor states, Zenoti is level with Vagaro and ahead of Booksy. Vagaro lets customers share a membership with up to 10 family and friends, pauses memberships, and redeems memberships, packages, gift cards and points across locations that share customers. Booksy offers unlimited-visit memberships at a price you set plus service packages; recurring billing, pausing, sharing and use at other locations are not stated publicly. Zenoti’s stated extras are skipping a payment and automatic trial-to-regular conversion, which do not appear on the rivals’ membership pages checked October 5, 2026.

“top-performing spas that sell membership earned 22% more revenue than spas that did not”

— Zenoti Memberships datasheet

6. Reporting and analytics you can customize

Zenoti reports can be tailored by adding, rearranging and removing columns, with custom formula columns and saved views. They can be delivered by email on a schedule, viewed for the whole organization, a region or several locations, run on accrual or cash accounting, and restricted so sensitive reports stay with the right people (Zenoti Reports datasheet).

On what each vendor states, Zenoti is ahead on custom formula columns and scheduled delivery. Vagaro generates “live and historical reports” across sales, employees, customers, appointments, inventory, messaging and billing, with a custom dashboard; custom formula columns and scheduled delivery are not stated publicly. Booksy lists “16 different detailed Revenue and Cash Flow reports” plus sales and staff performance reports; custom or scheduled reports are not stated publicly. Ask any vendor for a live walk-through of the reports you use most.

“Zenoti has strong reporting and data analysis tools that make it easier to track performance, sales trends, and team/service metrics.”

— Samantha C., Owner, Health, Wellness and Fitness, previously used Boulevard, Capterra, December 30, 2025

7. AI front desk and marketing

Zenoti’s AI Receptionist answers calls during rush hour, lunch, evenings, weekends and public holidays. It books single or multiple services with different providers on the call, takes deposits and suggests add-ons, recalls up to five recent visits so a guest can rebook the usual, offers a reschedule when a guest calls to cancel, makes outbound confirmation calls and transfers to a person on request. Calls can be routed 24/7, after hours, on missed calls or by a percentage split between AI and staff. HyperConnect replaces the existing phone setup, joins phone, SMS and web chat to guest profiles, and texts back after a missed call. For marketing, Zenoti builds campaigns from guest and service form segments, runs tiered loyalty and automated referral programs, and gathers Google, Facebook and Zenoti reviews in one dashboard with AI-drafted replies that staff approve. Abandoned booking recovery follows up on bookings that guests start and do not finish. AI agents require the AI Plus package, and no AI price is published.

Call volume is the reason this matters: Zenoti’s HyperConnect data across 3,500 or more locations in 2026 shows up to 35% of inbound calls to beauty and wellness businesses go unanswered. Across Zenoti accounts, the AI Receptionist has managed more than 250,000 calls, booked more than $2.3 million in revenue and captured more than 3,000 upsells, and medspa group OVME runs it live across 27 locations with after-hours coverage.

On what each vendor states, Zenoti is ahead on AI and level on campaigns. Vagaro’s Vera Receptionist is a chatbot that books, reschedules and cancels through chat for $10 a month with a Text Marketing plan required; by text it sends a booking link, and phone calls are not mentioned (August 28, 2026). Booksy’s AI Receptionist answers calls and books on the call in English and Spanish, but it is in beta and current providers request access. Both run campaigns and loyalty programs: Vagaro includes 1,000 free email credits and sells text marketing from $20 a month, and Booksy includes email and SMS blasts and a stamp-card loyalty program. Vagaro also drafts review replies with AI, so that is not unique to Zenoti.

“The longer we are on AI Receptionist, the more customers like it.”

— Warren Danforth, Owner, Spa 35, in Zenoti’s blog, October 30, 2025

“The ease of use for our team, the online booking that has kept our appointment books full, and the AI features have all been amazing.”

— Tarrah B., Owner, Consumer Services, Capterra, August 26, 2026

8. Payments and checkout

Zenoti includes payment links, tap-and-go payments and a customizable tip screen, plus saved cards that update automatically when they expire (varies by country), with no fees and unlimited card storage. Deposits can target or exclude specific guests, such as new guests or repeat no-shows, SMS payment links work for guests and groups, and buy-now-pay-later approvals take about 30 seconds . Auto-reconciliation, built-in dispute management and deposit reports that forecast incoming funds are included, along with stated 99.99% uptime and PCI DSS-secure transactions (Payments datasheet).

Checkout is level across the three platforms on what each states, so no checkout claim is made here. Vagaro processes deposits and fees through Vagaro Merchant Services and charges cancellation and no-show fees automatically once set up. Booksy publishes its processing rates (2.49% plus $0.10 on its card reader) and offers 30-minute Fast Payouts for a 1.5% fee. Dispute handling is documented by Vagaro and Booksy as well.

“Scheduling is very user-friendly, and the checkout process is simple and efficient.”

— Aubrey N., Office Manager, Health, Wellness and Fitness, Capterra, July 3, 2026

9. Multi-location and franchise control

Zenoti keeps one guest profile across centers and a centralized appointment book. Memberships, packages and gift cards redeem from anywhere, and “Secure cross-center settlements and royalty fee payments” are supported. Zenoti’s Multi-Center Management datasheet states that more than 400 multi-center brands use it.

On what each vendor states, Zenoti is ahead on franchise tools and scale. Vagaro shares customers, memberships, packages, gift cards and points between grouped locations and syncs services, memberships, packages and prices from a flagship location; franchise royalties and settlements are not stated publicly. Booksy has businesses create separate accounts for each location, which support can merge into one login. A single-location salon or medspa runs on the same platform, so growing into a second location does not mean a second migration.

“Our business migrated over to zenoti a couple of months ago and it has been a wonderful experience with all the great capabilities they offer especially for franchising.”

— Jacinda P., VP of Store and Franchise Operations, Cosmetics, previously used Boulevard, Capterra, April 10, 2026

“membership benefits, loyalty rewards and gift cards are honored by any spa location”

— Hand and Stone case study, a franchise brand with “more than 460 locations across the USA and Canada”

10. Payroll inside the platform

Zenoti payroll syncs appointments, hours, commissions and tips, and calculates hourly pay with overtime, salaries, every commission type, tips and bonuses in one run. It handles federal and state tax calculations, filings and payments across all 50 US states and covers W-2s and 1099s. Providers get early access to their tips in MyZen, and leave management sits in the same platform . Payroll is available in the US only, and prices are not published (checked October 5, 2026).

On what each vendor states, Zenoti is level with Vagaro and ahead of Booksy. Vagaro Payroll states automatic tax filing and is a $34-a-month add-on plus $5 per employee, US only. Booksy sets commission rates and tips; payroll processing is not stated publicly.

“Payroll with Zenoti has completely changed my life.”

— Kelsie Hove, Operations Manager, in the OC Waxing case study, which reports a 75% reduction in payroll processing time across five Orange County, California salons

“The zenoti team also provided a great training for us how to utilize the system and it is extremely easy to learn and navigate bookings, reporting, inventory, scheduling and payroll.”

— Jacinda P., VP of Store and Franchise Operations, Cosmetics, previously used Boulevard, Capterra, April 10, 2026

Pros

  • Booking, memberships, payments, payroll and marketing in one platform
  • Built for salons, spas and medspas, with injectable records that include lot number and expiry date
  • Franchise settlements and royalties, and one guest profile across centers
  • AI Receptionist and HyperConnect for calls and texts, and AI Scribe for chart notes
  • Runs a single location and scales to many on the same platform

Cons

  • Setup takes effort: ease of setup is its lowest G2 sub-score (7.6 as of October 1, 2026), and Zenoti’s implementation team handles migration and onboarding
  • Pricing is quote-based, so there is no published price to compare
  • AI agents require the AI Plus package, and AI Scribe is a paid add-on
  • Payroll is US only
  • May offer more functionality than the smallest businesses need

Pricing: Custom pricing; Zenoti requires businesses to request a quote (pricing page, checked October 5, 2026). Zenoti Payments terms are separate from the software subscription.

To see how the platform handles these ten criteria for your own setup, take a look at how it works.

2. Mangomint:

Mangomint is salon and spa software with a single plan that includes its core features, among them Express Booking, memberships, the Virtual Waiting Room, forms and charting, and web chat. HIPAA compliance is available with a signed BAA. It suits single-location and growing salons and spas that want a flat, published price.

Strengths

  • Core features sit in one plan, with integrations and forms and charting included
  • Intelligent waitlist, automated flows and email or text campaigns
  • Full-service payroll processing available as an add-on

Limits to weigh

  • Phone, marketing and payroll are paid add-ons, and two-way texting needs the Phone add-on
  • HIPAA compliance requires signing a BAA
  • AI features and injectable lot or expiry tracking are not stated publicly on the pages reviewed

Pricing: $120 a month per location plus $10 a month per user. Add-ons: phone at $70 a month per line, marketing from $30 a month, and payroll at $50 a month per payroll account plus $8 per worker (Mangomint, effective August 1, 2026; checked October 8, 2026).

3. Vagaro:

Vagaro is a salon, spa and wellness platform known for a low entry price and a consumer marketplace that lists businesses with “$0 booking fees”. Its help center and product pages state HIPAA compliance with a signed BAA, SOAP notes, intake and consent forms, before-and-after photo storage and e-prescribing that covers controlled substances.

Strengths

  • Low entry price, payroll with automatic tax filing and a free White Glove migration
  • Membership sharing with up to 10 family and friends, and redemption across locations that share customers
  • Free support by phone, email and chat with Vera

Limits to weigh

  • Payroll, text marketing, a branded app, Vera and forms are paid add-ons
  • Vera sends a booking link by text because it cannot yet schedule by SMS, and phone calls are not mentioned
  • Lot numbers, expiry dates, AI note drafting and franchise royalties are not stated publicly

Pricing: $23.99 a month for one location (an introductory rate for the first six months), plus $10 a month per extra staff calendar up to seven (Vagaro, checked October 5, 2026).

4. Phorest:

Phorest is an all-in-one platform for premium salons, spas and medspas, and its US pages describe it as a fit for growing businesses with three or more staff. It connects booking, consultation forms, payments, marketing, loyalty and reporting, and its med spa page states digital consent forms, face mapping with markup tools and before-and-after image storage.

Strengths

  • Consultation tools built around premium client care, plus AI tools stated on its US site
  • Monthly subscription with no commission on bookings, per its hair salon page
  • Free Phorest Academy training for the whole team

Limits to weigh

  • Pricing is by quote, and buyers are directed to book a demo or request a quote
  • A three-staff-plus positioning can leave solo providers a lighter fit elsewhere
  • Payroll, franchise settlements and lot tracking are not stated on the pages reviewed

Pricing: Quote-based; Phorest publishes no price list on its US pages (checked October 8, 2026).

5. Fresha:

Fresha is a booking and business platform with a consumer marketplace, aimed mainly at solo providers and small teams. It now runs on paid subscriptions, with a one-time fee on new clients who find a business through its marketplace and card processing fees on top.

Strengths

  • Low per-seat subscription that suits small teams
  • A marketplace that can bring new clients
  • Team plan supports unlimited team members and locations

Limits to weigh

  • The bill tracks headcount, and add-ons such as Client Loyalty ($59.95 a month per location) and Insights ($9.95 a month per team member) cost extra
  • A 20% new-client marketplace fee and processing rates (2.19% plus $0.20 in person) apply on top
  • Medspa charting, franchise settlements and payroll with tax filing are not stated publicly in the sources reviewed

Pricing: Independent $19.95 a month for one bookable team member; Team $14.95 a month per bookable team member; Enterprise priced on request for 20 or more team members.

6. GlossGenius:

GlossGenius is a mobile-first platform for solo and small beauty businesses, known for a branded booking site and a polished client experience. Plans scale by team size, with feature tiers that unlock forms, waitlists and larger teams.

Strengths

  • Branded booking site, online booking, point of sale and client management on every plan
  • Gold adds digital intake forms, waivers and waitlist tools
  • Platinum adds unlimited team members, Google marketing analytics and premium support

Limits to weigh

  • Features are gated by plan, so growing teams move up tiers
  • Text marketing allowances vary by plan
  • Injectable charting, franchise tools and payroll with tax filing are not stated publicly in the sources reviewed

Pricing: Standard $24 a month billed annually ($28 billed monthly), Gold $48 and Platinum $148 a month billed annually.

7. Mindbody:

Mindbody is a long-established platform for fitness, wellness and beauty businesses, with a consumer app that Mindbody says has more than 3 million active users and free listings for customers. It suits wellness facilities that combine spa services with classes.

Strengths

  • Consumer app for client discovery, with free listings for all customers
  • Three tiers: Starter for essentials, Accelerate for reporting and controls, Ultimate for marketing automation and analytics
  • Technical Account Management services for setup

Limits to weigh

  • Only Starter is priced on its US pages; Accelerate and Ultimate require contacting Mindbody
  • A branded mobile app and Attentive SMS and email are add-ons on some plans
  • Medspa charting and AI features are not stated on the pages reviewed

Pricing: Starter from $99 a month per location; Accelerate and Ultimate by quote (Mindbody, checked October 8, 2026).

8. PatientNow:

PatientNow is a HIPAA-compliant EMR and practice management platform built for aesthetic practices, including med spas, plastic surgery, dermatology and wellness clinics. Its site states SOC 2 Type 2 certification, e-prescribing, before-and-after photography, automated reminders, waitlists, marketing campaigns and multi-location scheduling. It suits practices where clinical charting is the center of the workflow.

Strengths

  • Clinical depth: charting, injection tracking and photo management
  • AI-powered patient engagement and marketing automation, as stated on its site
  • Multi-location and asset scheduling

Limits to weigh

  • Pricing is not published and is customized by practice
  • Built around aesthetic and medical practices, so businesses that mix salon and medspa services should confirm fit
  • Payroll and franchise settlements are not stated on the pages reviewed

Pricing: Custom pricing; no price list found on PatientNow’s public pages (checked October 8, 2026).

9. AestheticsPro:

AestheticsPro is medspa software with published pricing. Its pricing page lists a mobile app, a client portal with online booking, telemedicine, an EMR form library of 500 or more customizable forms, e-prescribing, text and email marketing, and AP Photo for aligned treatment photos and side-by-side comparisons.

Strengths

  • Published edition prices, with savings on annual prepay
  • Clinical tools such as telemedicine, e-prescribe and photo markup
  • Executive and Enterprise editions support multiple locations with unlimited users

Limits to weigh

  • E-prescribe, AP Texting and AP Marketing Solutions may carry an additional fee
  • Pro-Plus covers up to three users
  • AI features and payroll with tax filing are not stated on the pricing page

Pricing: Pro-Plus $160 a month for two users plus $85 for each additional user (up to three); Executive $285 a month and Enterprise $350 a month, both with unlimited users (AestheticsPro, checked October 8, 2026).

10. Booksy:

Booksy is a booking and marketplace platform for barbers, hair, nail, brow and lash, massage and spa businesses. It runs on one plan with all features included, and clients can book through the Booksy profile, Instagram, Google or the Booksy consumer app, which Booksy says reaches 44 million clients worldwide.

Strengths

  • One plan with all features included, plus 24/7 live chat and email support
  • Published processing rates and 30-minute Fast Payouts for a 1.5% fee
  • Automatic review collection, email and SMS blasts and a stamp-card loyalty program

Limits to weigh

  • Extra users cost $20 each, and Boost marketplace promotion costs 30% of a new client’s first visit, up to $100
  • Its AI Receptionist is in beta, and appointments with No-Show Protection are not supported in the first version
  • Each location uses a separate account, and its pages do not name medspas

Pricing: $29.99 a month plus $20 per extra user (Booksy, checked October 5, 2026).

Frequently asked questions

What are the best alternatives to Boulevard?

Platforms like Zenoti, Mangomint, Vagaro and Booksy are the closest matches for most salons, spas and medspas, and the best fit depends on your size and services. Zenoti suits one location to many, including clinical medspas, Mangomint suits one flat plan, and PatientNow and AestheticsPro suit practices built around a dedicated EMR. For a direct two-way view, see Zenoti vs Boulevard.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Boulevard?

Yes, several platforms publish entry prices under $30 a month, including Vagaro at $23.99, GlossGenius at $24 billed annually, Fresha at $19.95 and Booksy at $29.99. Add-ons, extra users and processing fees change the real total. Zenoti and Phorest are quote-based, so compare the full stack of tools you need, not only the first number.

What features should I look for in a salon and spa management software alternative?

Compare ten areas: total cost as you grow, mobile apps, medspa charting, support, memberships, reporting, AI front desk and marketing, payments, multi-location control and payroll. Weigh them against your own business, because a single-location salon and a franchise need different things. Platforms like Zenoti cover all ten in one system, while others cover some through add-ons.

How difficult is it to migrate from Boulevard to an alternative?

Difficulty depends on data volume and how many locations you run. Zenoti states that a switch typically takes four to six weeks for a single-location business, with its migration team handling guest data import, service menu setup and staff configuration. Stored cards on file often set the schedule, so start that request early. The switching guide walks through the steps.

Can I migrate my salon data from Boulevard to another platform?

In most cases, yes. Guest profiles, appointment history, memberships and gift card balances are the usual scope, and each vendor sets its own limits. Zenoti’s implementation scope states that past appointments, sales and collections are loaded after go-live as contracted. Ask any vendor for its written migration scope before you sign.

What Boulevard alternatives work for multi-location businesses?

Zenoti, Vagaro, AestheticsPro and PatientNow all support multiple locations, in different ways. Zenoti states one guest profile across centers, cross-center memberships and gift cards, and franchise settlements and royalties, with more than 400 multi-center brands. Vagaro shares customers, memberships and gift cards between grouped locations, while Booksy uses a separate account for each location.

Which Boulevard alternatives are best for client retention?

Retention comes from memberships, loyalty and follow-up. Zenoti offers auto-recurring memberships, tiered loyalty, automated referrals and segmented campaigns. Vagaro offers loyalty points, membership sharing and text marketing from $20 a month. Booksy offers email and SMS blasts and stamp-card loyalty, and Mindbody offers marketing automation on its Ultimate plan. Match the tool to how your clients rebook.

Is there a Boulevard alternative for a single-location salon?

Yes. A single-location salon, a two-provider medspa or an independent stylist can run on Zenoti, Mangomint, Vagaro, Booksy, Fresha or GlossGenius, depending on budget and services. Zenoti runs a single location on the same platform that scales to many, so adding a second location later does not require a second migration.

Which Boulevard alternative is best for a medspa?

Medspas should compare charting depth, photos, consents, e-prescribing and AI notes. Zenoti records injectable product, units, lot number and expiry date, drafts chart notes with AI Scribe (a paid add-on) and signs a BAA. Vagaro, Phorest, PatientNow and AestheticsPro also state clinical tools. Ask each vendor to demo your own treatment workflow.


Cheryl Cole

Written by

Cheryl Cole, Managing Editor

Cheryl uses her background in journalism to help brands bring their unique stories to life. Passionate about content strategy, she has extensive experience leading both print and digital publications. As managing editor of The Check-In, Cheryl is committed to providing wellness professionals with high-quality, tailored content designed to help grow their brands.

Learn more about Cheryl Cole